Copyright Board Canada

Raison d'Ítre, mandate and role: who we are and what we do

Raison d'Ítre

The Copyright Board of Canada (the "Board") is an economic regulatory body empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works, when the administration of such copyright is entrusted to a collective-administration society. The Board also has the right to supervise agreements between users and licensing bodies and issues licences when the copyright owner cannot be located.

Mandate and role

The responsibilities of the Board under the Copyright Act are to:

  • certify tariffs for
    • the public performance of the communication to the public by telecommunication of musical works and sound recordings;
    • the doing of any protected act mentioned in sections 3, 15, 18 and 21 of the Act;
    • the retransmission of distant television and radio signals or the reproduction and public performance by educational institutions, of radio or television news or news commentary programs and all other programs, for educational or training purposes.
  • set levies for the private copying of recorded musical works;
  • set royalties payable by a user to a collective society, when there is disagreement on the royalties or on the related terms and conditions;
  • rule on applications for non-exclusive licences to use published works, fixed performances, published sound recordings and fixed communication signals, when the copyright owner cannot be located;
  • examine agreements made between a collective society and a user which have been filed with the Board by either party, where the Commissioner of Competition considers that the agreement is contrary to the public interest;
  • receive such agreements with collective societies that are filed with it by any part y to those agreements within 15 days of their conclusion;
  • determine the compensation to be paid by a copyright owner to a person to stop her from performing formerly unprotected acts in countries that later join the Berne Convention, the Universal Convention or the Agreement establishing the World Trade Organization; and,
  • conduct studies with respect to the exercise of its powers as requested by the Minister of Industry.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Raison d'être, mandat et rôle : composition et responsabilités

Raison d'être

La Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada (la « Commission ») est un organisme de réglementation économique investi du pouvoir d'établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d'un intéressé, les redevances à verser pour l'utilisation d'œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur, lorsque la gestion de ce droit est confiée à une société de gestion collective. Par ailleurs, la Commission exerce un pouvoir de surveillance des ententes intervenues entre utilisateurs et sociétés de gestion, et délivre elle-même des licences lorsque le titulaire du droit d'auteur est introuvable.

Mandat et rôle

Les responsabilités de la Commission en vertu de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur sont de :

  • homologuer les tarifs pour
    • l'exécution publique et la communication au public par télécommunication d'œuvres musicales et d'enregistrements sonores;
    • l'accomplissement de tout acte protégé mentionné aux articles 3, 15, 18 et 21 de la Loi;
    • la retransmission de signaux éloignés de télévision et de radio, ou pour la reproduction et l'exécution publique par des établissements d'enseignement, à des fins pédagogiques, d'émissions ou de commentaires d'actualité et toute autre émission de télévision et de radio;
  • fixer les redevances pour la copie pour usage privé d'œuvres musicales enregistrées;
  • fixer les redevances payables par un utilisateur à une société de gestion, s'il y a mésentente sur les redevances ou sur les modalités afférentes;
  • se prononcer sur des demandes de licences non exclusives pour utiliser une œuvre publiée, la fixation d'une prestation, un enregistrement sonore publié ou la fixation d'un signal de communication dont le titulaire du droit d'auteur est introuvable;
  • examiner les ententes conclues entre une société de gestion et un utilisateur et déposées auprès de la Commission par une partie, lorsque le Commissaire de la concurrence estime que l'entente est contraire à l'intérêt public;
  • être dépositaire des ententes avec les sociétés de gestion déposées par une des parties à l'entente dans les quinze jours suivant leur conclusion;
  • fixer l'indemnité à verser par un titulaire de droit d'auteur à une personne pour qu'elle cesse d'accomplir des actes protégés suite à l'adhésion d'un pays à la Convention de Berne, à la Convention universelle ou à l'Accord instituant l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, mais qui ne l'étaient pas au moment où ils ont été accomplis; à la demande du ministre de l'Industrie, effectuer toute étude touchant ses attributions.