Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Info Source

Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information

1. General Information

Background

The Copyright Board of Canada (the Board) was created by a series of amendments to the Copyright Act which were proclaimed on February 1, 1989. It replaced the Copyright Appeal Board which had been responsible since 1935 for approving annual tariffs respecting the public performance of music. Bill C-32 (Act modifying the Copyright Act) which received Royal Assent on April 25, 1997, modifies the mandate of the Board by adding the responsibilities, among others, for the adoption of tariffs for the public performance and communication to the public by telecommunication of sound recordings of musical works, for the benefit of the performers of these works and of the makers of the sound recordings ("the neighbouring rights") and for the adoption of tariffs for private copying of recorded musical works, for the benefit of the rights owners in the works, the recorded performances and the sound recordings ("the home-taping regime"). The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Innovation, Science, Economic Development. http://www.cb-cda.gc.ca/act-loi/index-e.html

Responsibilities

The Board is an independent administrative agency which has been conferred department status for purposes of the Financial Administration Act. Its mandate stems from the Copyright Act.

The Board plays a major role in the collective administration of copyright, particularly where the public performance and the communication to the public, by telecommunication, of musical works, as well as the retransmission of distant radio and television signals are concerned. The Board plays a surveillance role in three ways with respect to collective societies which administer very large repertoires of work created by a multitude of originators both in Canada and in other countries: as an economic regulatory body, by approving tariff proposals by the various copyright collective societies; as an arbitrator in private disputes; and as an arbitrator of the public interest. The Board reports annually to Parliament through the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development.

The Board's principal mandate is to set royalties which are fair and reasonable for both copyright owners and the users of copyright-protected works, as well as issuing non-exclusive licences authorizing the fully legal use of works when the copyright owner cannot be located.

http://www.cb-cda.gc.ca/about-apropos/mandate-mandat-e.html

http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/F-11/page-1.html

2. Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

The Board has one main Program Activity “Copyright Tariff Setting and Inssuance of Licenses

Copyright Tariff Setting and Issuance of Licences

The Board is an economic regulatory body empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works, when the administration of such copyright is entrusted to a collective-administration society. The Board also has the right to supervise agreements between users and licensing bodies and issues licences when the copyright owner cannot be located.

Copyright Board of Canada Records

Description: These records contain the documentation related to the processing of a tariff proposal or licence application before the Board, including all the papers, submissions, evidence and exhibits provided by the parties and intervenors before, during and after the hearing. Decisions of the Board, the reasons for the decisions, notices of any proceedings before a higher court and decisions of the higher courts and agreements between collective societies and users filed with the Board also form part of the record.

Document Types: Collective societies representing copyright owners. Objections by users of copyrighted works administered by collective societies. Applications for arbitration, when the parties (collective society or user) are unable to agree on the royalties or the related terms and conditions. Applications for non-exclusive licences to use published works, fixed performances, published sound recordings and fixed communication signals when the copyright owner is unlocatable.

Institution-Specific Classes of Records (COR’s)

There is one Classes of Records, CS SEC 035, “Copyright Board of Canada Records”.

Institution-Specific Personal Information Banks (PIBs)

The Board has two Institution-Specific PIB’s registered with IPPD

Copyright Appeal Board Records, CBPPU020

Letter of comment, CB PPU 015

Internal Services

Internal services constitute groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are management and oversight services, communications services, legal services, human resources management services, financial management services, information management services, information technology services, real property services, materiel services, acquisition services, and travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Acquisitions

Acquisition services involve activities undertaken to acquire a good or service to fulfill a properly completed request (including a complete and accurate definition of requirements and certification that funds are available) until entering into or amending a contract.

Communications Services

Communications Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that Government of Canada communications are effectively managed, well-coordinated and responsive to the diverse information needs of the public. The communications management function ensures that the public - internal or external - receives government information, and that the views and concerns of the public are taken into account in the planning, management and evaluation of policies, programs, services and initiatives.

Financial Management

Financial Management Services involve activities undertaken to ensure the prudent use of public resources, including planning, budgeting, accounting, reporting, control and oversight, analysis, decision support and advice, and financial systems.

Human Resources Management

Human Resources Management Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, allocating resources among services and processes, as well as activities relating to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

Information Management

Information Management Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective information management to support program and service delivery; foster informed decision making; facilitate accountability, transparency, and collaboration; and preserve and ensure access to information and records for the benefit of present and future generations.

Information Technology

Information Technology Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective use of information technology to support government priorities and program delivery, to increase productivity, and to enhance services to the public.

Legal Services

Legal services involve activities undertaken to enable government departments and agencies to pursue policy, program and service delivery priorities and objectives within a legally sound framework.

Management and Oversight Services

Management and Oversight Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, and allocating resources among services and processes, as well as those activities related to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

Materiel

Materiel Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that materiel can be managed by departments in a sustainable and financially responsible manner that supports the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Real Property

Real Property Services involve activities undertaken to ensure real property is managed in a sustainable and financially responsible manner, throughout its life cycle, to support the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Travel and Other Administrative Services

Travel and Other Administrative Services include Government of Canada (GC) travel services, as well as those other internal services that do not smoothly fit with any of the internal services categories.

Classes of Personal Information

Copyright Board of Canada Information Distribution

Files are kept on individuals and organizations to whom decisions, publications and other material generated by The Boardare distributed. The specific information filed comprises: name, address, telephone number and official language preference of the individual or organization, and the material that is distributed. The information pertains to individuals who have requested information and to persons involved in the field of copyright designated by The Boardfor receipt of decisions, publications and other material generated by the Board. This bank serves for distribution, analytical and statistical purposes. Names and records are stored electronically on permanent distribution lists which are updated as the need arises.

Manuals

Copyright Board of Canada Procedures

http://www.cb-cda.gc.ca/unlocatable-introuvables/brochure1-e.html

http://www.rsf-fsr.gc.ca/administer-administrer/guide-eng.aspx

3. Additional Information

The GC encourages the release of information through requests outside of the ATIP process. You may wish to consult the Board’s completed Access to Information (ATI) summaries http://cb-cda.gc.ca/about-apropos/annual-annuel/access-to-information-and-privacy-acts-atip-e.html.

Please see the Introduction to this publication for information on formal access procedures under the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. The following outlines how to make a formal ATIP request.

Mail your letter or Access to Information Request Form (Access to Information Act) or Personal Information Request Form (Privacy Act), along with any necessary documents (such as consent or the $5.00 application fee for a request under the Access to Information Act) to the following address:

Access to Information and Privacy office
Copyright Board of Canada
Att: Manager, Corporate Services
800-56 Sparks Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C9

Please note: Each request made to under the Access to Information Act must be accompanied by an application fee of $5.00, cheque or money order made payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

Reading Room

In accordance with the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act, an area on the premises will be made available should the applicant wish to review materials on site. The address is:

56 Sparks Street, Suite 800
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C9

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Info Source

Sources de renseignements sur le gouvernement fédéral et les fonctionnaires fédéraux

1. Renseignements généraux

Historique

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada (la Commission) a été créée suite à une série de modifications à la Loi sur le droit d’auteur qui ont été proclamées le 1er février 1989. Elle a remplacé la Commission d’appel du droit d’auteur qui, depuis 1935, approuvait les tarifs annuels pour l’exécution publique de la musique. Le projet de loi C-32 (Loi modifiant la Loi sur le droit d’auteur), qui a reçu la sanction royale le 25 avril 1997, fait en sorte que la Commission est dorénavant responsable, entre autres, en plus de son mandat actuel, de l’établissement de tarifs pour l’exécution publique et la communication au public par télécommunication d’enregistrements sonores d’œuvres musicales, pour le bénéfice des artistes-interprètes et des producteurs de ces enregistrements (« les droits voisins ») et de l’établissement de tarifs pour la copie aux fins d’usage privé d’œuvres musicales enregistrées, pour le bénéfice des titulaires de droits sur les œuvres, les prestations enregistrées et les enregistrements sonores (« le régime de la copie privée »). La Commission rend compte au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique. http://www.cb-cda.gc.ca/act-loi/index-f.html

Responsabilités

La Commission est un organisme administratif autonome ayant le statut de ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Son mandat découle de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

La Commission joue un rôle capital dans la gestion collective du droit d’auteur, particulièrement en ce qui concerne l’exécution publique et la communication au public par télécommunication d’œuvres musicales, ainsi que la retransmission des signaux éloignés de radio et de télévision. À l’égard des sociétés de gestion qui gèrent de très larges répertoires d’œuvres créées par une multitude de créateurs venant à la fois du Canada et de l’étranger, la Commission assume un rôle de surveillance, et ce, à trois titres : comme organisme de réglementation économique en approuvant les propositions de tarifs des différentes sociétés de gestion, comme arbitre de différends privés puis comme arbitre de l’intérêt public. La Commission rend compte au Parlement tous les ans par l’intermédiaire du ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique.

Le mandat principal de la Commission est de fixer des redevances qui soient justes et raisonnables tant pour les titulaires de droits que pour les utilisateurs des œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur ainsi que de délivrer des licences non exclusives qui permettent d’utiliser en toute légalité des œuvres dont les titulaires de droits d’auteur sont introuvables.

http://www.cb-cda.gc.ca/about-apropos/mandate-mandat-f.html

http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/F-11/page-1.html

2. Fonctions, programmes et activités de l’institution

La Commission est chargée d’une activité de programme principale : l’établissement de tarifs et la délivrance de licences pour l’utilisation des droits d’auteur.

Établissement de tarifs et délivrance de licences pour l’utilisation des droits d’auteur

La Commission est un organisme de réglementation économique investi du pouvoir d’établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d’un intéressé, les redevances à être versées pour l’utilisation d’œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur, lorsque la gestion de ce droit est confiée à une société de gestion collective. La Commission exerce aussi un pouvoir de surveillance des ententes intervenues entre utilisateurs et sociétés de gestion et délivre elle-même des licences lorsque le titulaire du droit d’auteur est introuvable.

Dossiers de la Commission du droit d’auteur

Description : Ces dossiers contiennent la documentation concernant les projets de tarifs ou les demandes de licence présentées à la Commission, y compris tous les documents, observations, éléments de preuve ou pièces fournis par les parties et les intervenants avant, pendant et après l’audience. Les décisions de la Commission, les motifs des décisions, les avis de procédures devant une cour supérieure et les décisions des cours supérieurs, ainsi que les ententes entre les sociétés de gestion et les utilisateurs déposées auprès de la Commission font aussi partie de ce dossier.

Types de documents : Les sociétés de gestion représentant les titulaires d’un droit d’auteur. Les oppositions des utilisateurs d’œuvres protégées administrées par les sociétés de gestion. Les requêtes pour arbitrage quand les parties (société de gestion ou utilisateur) ne peuvent s’entendre sur les redevances ou sur les modalités afférentes. Les demandes de licence non exclusive pour utiliser une œuvre publiée, la fixation d’une prestation, un enregistrement sonore publié ou la fixation d’un signal de communication dont le titulaire du droit est introuvable.

Catégories de documents spécifiques à l’institution (CCD)

Il existe une catégorie de documents, CS SEC 035, « Archive de la Commission du droit d’auteur ».

Fichiers de renseignements personnels spécifiques à l’institution (FRP)

La Commission a deux FRP spécifiques à l’institution inscrite auprès de la DPIPRP

Dossiers de la Commission du droit d’auteur, CDA PPU 020

Lettre de commentaires, CDA PPU 015

Services internes

Les services internes constituent des groupes d’activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d’une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l’information, services des technologies de l’information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l’ensemble d’une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Acquisitions

Activités mises en œuvre dans le but d’acquérir les biens et les services requis pour répondre à une demande en bonne et due forme (y compris une définition complète et précise des exigences et la garantie que les fonds sont disponibles), et ce, jusqu’à la passation ou à la modification d’un marché.

Gestion des ressources humaines

Activités entreprises pour déterminer l’orientation stratégique et l’allocation des ressources entre les services et les processus, ainsi que les activités liées à l’analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d’atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans applicables.

Gestion financière

Les services de gestion financière comprennent les activités visant à assurer l’utilisation responsable des ressources publiques, comme la planification, la gestion budgétaire, la comptabilité, la production de rapports, le contrôle et la surveillance, l’analyse, les conseils et le soutien au processus décisionnel, ainsi que les systèmes financiers.

Services de communications

Activités mises en œuvre afin de veiller à ce que les communications du gouvernement du Canada soient gérées efficacement, qu’elles soient bien coordonnées et qu’elles répondent aux divers besoins d’information du public. La fonction de gestion des communications assure la diffusion de renseignements gouvernementaux au public interne et externe ainsi que la prise en considération de ses préoccupations et intérêts dans la planification, la gestion et l’évaluation des politiques, des programmes, des services et des initiatives.

Services de gestion de l’information

Activités visant à assurer une gestion efficiente et efficace de l’information à l’appui de la prestation de programme et de services, à faciliter la prise de décisions éclairées, à faciliter la reddition des comptes, la transparence et la collaboration, ainsi qu’à conserver l’information et les documents pour le bénéfice de la présente génération et des générations futures en veillant à ce qu’ils demeurent accessibles.

Services de gestion et de surveillance

Activités entreprises pour déterminer l’orientation stratégique et l’allocation des ressources entre les services et les processus, ainsi que les activités liées à l’analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d’atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans applicables.

Services de technologie de l’information

Activités dont le but est d’assurer l’utilisation efficiente et efficace de la technologie de l’information, à l’appui des priorités gouvernementales et de la mise en œuvre des programmes afin d’accroître la productivité et d’améliorer les services offerts au public.

Services de voyage et autres services administratifs

Ces services comprennent les services de voyage du gouvernement du Canada (GC), ainsi que les autres services internes qui ne correspondent à aucune autre catégorie de services internes.

Services des biens immobiliers

Activités ayant pour objet d’assurer une gestion des biens immobiliers durable et responsable sur le plan financier, tout au long de leur cycle de vie, afin de soutenir l’exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services du matériel

Activités visant à assurer, de la part des ministères, une gestion du matériel durable et responsable sur le plan financier afin de soutenir l’exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services juridiques

Activités permettant aux ministères et organismes de réaliser les priorités et d’atteindre les objectifs associés à leurs politiques, programmes et services dans un cadre juridique approprié.

Catégories de renseignements personnels

Dissémination de l’information de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada

On conserve des renseignements sur les particuliers et les organisations à qui sont envoyées les décisions, les publications et toute autre documentation produite par la Commission. Les renseignements conservés comprennent : le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone et le choix de langue officielle du particulier ou de l’organisation, ainsi que les documents qui leur ont été remis. L’information recueillie porte sur les particuliers qui ont présenté des demandes de renseignements et les personnes concernées dans le domaine du droit d’auteur qui ont été désignées par la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada pour recevoir les décisions, publications ou autre documentation produite par la Commission. Cette banque de données sert à des fins de distribution d’information, d’analyse et de statistique. Les noms et dossiers sont emmagasinés sur des fichiers électroniques sur une base permanente et sont mis à jour au besoin.

Manuels

Procédures de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada

http://www.cb-cda.gc.ca/unlocatable-introuvables/brochure1-e.html

http://www.rsf-fsr.gc.ca/administer-administrer/guide-fra.aspx

3. Renseignements supplémentaires

Le GC encourage la divulgation de renseignements au moyen de demandes qui ne s’inscrivent pas dans le processus d’AIPRP. Vous voudrez peut-être consulter les sommaires des demandes d’accès à l’information complétées de la Commission : http://cb-cda.gc.ca/about-apropos/annual-annuel/access-to-information-and-privacy-acts-atip-f.html.

Veuillez consulter l’introduction de la présente publication pour obtenir des renseignements sur les procédures officielles d’accès en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Voici comment présenter une demande officielle d’AIPRP.

Postez votre lettre, votre formulaire de demande d’accès à l’information (Loi sur l’accès à l’information) ou formulaire de demande d’accès à des renseignements personnels (Loi sur l’accès à des renseignements personnels), accompagné de tout document nécessaire (comme le consentement ou les frais de 5 $ exigibles pour le traitement d’une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) à l’adresse suivante :

Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada
Gestionnaire, Services ministériels
56, rue Sparks, bureau 800
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C9

Note : Chaque demande présentée en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information doit être accompagnée d’un chèque ou d’un mandat-poste de 5 $ émis à l’ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

Salle de lecture

Conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, un espace sera mis à la disposition du demandeur, s’il souhaite consulter du matériel sur place. L’adresse est la suivante :

56, rue Sparks, bureau 800
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C9