Copyright Board Canada
Canada

INTERPRETATION POLICY FOR REGULATIONS

An Interpretation Policy is an overarching document that outlines the commitments, practices, and tools to be applied by a department or agency when providing Canadians and businesses with information and guidance on regulatory obligations to be met. It also identifies the conditions under which written responses to questions will be provided.

Context

The Copyright Board of Canada (the "Board") is an economic regulatory body empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works, when the administration of such copyright is entrusted to a collective society. Moreover, the Board has the right to supervise agreements between users and licensing bodies, issue licenses when the copyright owner cannot be located and may determine the compensation to be paid by a copyright owner to a user when there is a risk that the coming into force of a new copyright might adversely affect the latter.

In keeping with the mandate, an Interpretation Policy for the Board was developed in adherence with government policies and to ensure information on the Board's regulations is understandable and useful to Canadians.

Predictability

Plain Language Commitment

The Board is committed to following the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada when drafting regulatory documents, including the requirement to provide plain language information and guidance to Canadians and businesses to ensure that information is clear, relevant, objective, easy to understand and useful to a broad audience. The Board supports plain language regulatory drafting in compliance with the Treasury Board Secretariat's (TBS) Web Writing Style Guide.

The Board uses a number of tools to ensure consistency in regulatory guidance materials and to support the commitment to plain language writing. Examples include: a procedures manual that provides an overview of the Board's legislation, regulations and steps in the regulatory process; technical backgrounders and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) in order to facilitate regulatory compliance. In addition, the Board's staff is available to provide guidance on regulatory matters by telephone or email.

The Board typically posts its FAQs regarding new regulations and regulatory amendments on its website to assist stakeholders with complex and technical aspects of regulations. In advance of finalizing new regulations or amendments to existing regulations, the Board holds stakeholder consultations to discuss the impact. In some cases, stakeholders also receive notification emails as soon as the regulations are pre-published in the Canada Gazette, providing plain language explanations of the intent and rationale for proposed regulatory changes, clause-by-clause. This supports informed public commentary during the consultation periods.

Providing Guidance and Building Awareness

The Board uses various tools to proactively build stakeholder awareness of its requirements and regulatory guidance material. Examples include:

  • communications with industry and advisory groups;
  • information sessions;
  • printed material;
  • RSS feeds;
  • social media;
  • targeted email; and,
  • web postings.

Responding to Questions

Service standards for acknowledging and responding to regulatory enquiries from the public

Public enquiries to the Board on regulations can be made through various channels: phone calls, letters and emails. The Board commits to responding to inquiries in a timely manner. Response time can vary (24 hrs to 15 days) depending on the scope of the enquiry. Generally, the Board responds to 90% of public requests for information on regulations made via telephone or voice mail within 24 hours of receipt. In cases where the service standards cannot be met because additional information is required to provide a response, the caller is so informed within the 24 hour period. Responses to posted mail inquires occurs within 5 days of their receipt. Requests for documentation may take between 48 hours and 15 business days. Reoccurring enquiries will be responded to through FAQs. To improve the quality and consistency in responses, checks in are conducted with stakeholders on the Board's interpretation policies, practices, and tools and response rates are tracked to identify improvements.

Service

Service Commitment

The Board is committed to excellence in service delivery. The Board's staff is expected to adhere to the department's Values and Ethics Code (Copyright Board of Canada Values and Ethics Code) and respect the Treasury Board's Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector. Outcomes of service delivery are reported on in the Board's Departmental Performance Report, when applicable.

Service Accountability

Consultations are the most formal approach for responding to regulatory issues and complaints. Mechanisms used to respond to these issues and complaints include: complaint files, consultations and emails.

Staff Training

Because of the small size of the Board, it does not have dedicated regulations specialists. It, therefore, works closely with the Treasury Board Secretariat, Industry Canada and Justice Canada for guidance on regulatory issues. The Board's Legal Services are able to respond to most questions.

Stakeholder Engagement

Commitment to Stakeholder Engagement

The Board publishes draft regulations for public consultation in Part 1 of the Canada Gazette, to be consistent with the requirements of the Cabinet Directive on Regulatory Management. The comments received during the consultation period are reviewed by the Board's staff and addressed as part of the final regulatory package prepared for Treasury Board considerations, as required, before publication in Part II of the Canada Gazette.

Stakeholder Engagement Practices

Mechanisms used to engage stakeholders may also include formal on line consultations.

Improvement

The Board will monitor the implementation of its Interpretation Policy for Regulations.

Consultation with stakeholders on current interpretation practices will be ongoing as required. After stakeholder consultations were completed in 2014-2015, the Board received comments from one stakeholder. These comments were not specific to the Board's interpretation practices. As a result, there is currently no baseline on which to establish improvement metrics, nor are there any improvement priorities.

Following the publication of the policy in 2015, no requests or further comments were received from stakeholders. As such, since no improvement metrics were identified, the Board will continue to assess it's performance and potential improvements as requests are received. When necessary, if the Board receives recurring enquiries, the FAQs will be updated.

Related Reports

For More Information

space

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

POLITIQUE D’INTERPRÉTATION DE LA RÉGLEMENTATION

Une politique d’interprétation est un document général qui définit les engagements, les pratiques et les outils dont doivent se servir les ministères et les organismes gouvernementaux pour renseigner et orienter les Canadiennes et Canadiens et les entreprises au sujet des obligations réglementaires à respecter. Ce type de document énonce également les conditions régissant les réponses écrites à donner aux questions posées.

Contexte

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada (la « Commission ») est un organisme de réglementation économique investi du pouvoir d’établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d’un intéressé, les redevances à verser pour l’utilisation d’œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur, lorsque la gestion de ce droit est confiée à une société de gestion collective. Par ailleurs, la Commission exerce un pouvoir de surveillance des ententes intervenues entre utilisateurs et sociétés de gestion, délivre elle même certaines licences lorsque le titulaire du droit d’auteur est introuvable, et peut établir l’indemnité à verser par un titulaire de droit à un utilisateur lorsque l’entrée en vigueur d’un nouveau droit risque de porter préjudice à ce dernier.

Conformément au mandat de la Commission, une politique d’interprétation a été mise au point dans le respect des politiques du gouvernement pour faire en sorte que l’information sur les règlements de la Commission soit compréhensible et utile aux Canadiennes et Canadiens.

Prévisibilité

S’engager à employer un langage clair

La Commission s’est engagée à appliquer la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada dans la rédaction de documents réglementaires, y compris à fournir de l’information et des conseils aux Canadiennes et Canadiens et aux entreprises en langage clair de manière à garantir que l’information destinée à un vaste public soit claire, pertinente, objective, facile à comprendre et utile. La Commission encourage la rédaction de documents réglementaires en langage clair conformément au Guide de rédaction de contenu pour le Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT).

La Commission recourt à plusieurs mécanismes pour renforcer l’engagement à rédiger en langage clair et pour assurer la cohérence entre les divers documents d’orientation sur la réglementation, dont les suivants : un manuel des procédures qui donne un aperçu de la législation et de la réglementation qui concerne la Commission ainsi que les diverses étapes du processus de réglementation, les documents de fond à caractère technique et une Foire aux questions (FAQ) facilitant la conformité réglementaire. On peut également communiquer avec des employés de la Commission par téléphone ou par courriel pour obtenir des conseils sur des questions de réglementation.

La Commission affiche toujours sur son site Web une série de questions courantes sur les nouveaux règlements et les amendements de règlements pour informer les parties prenantes des aspects complexes et techniques de la réglementation. Avant de mettre au point ou de modifier des règlements, la Commission tient des consultations avec les parties prenantes pour débattre des répercussions. Dans certains cas, les parties prenantes reçoivent, dès la prépublication des règlements dans la Gazette du Canada, des avis par courriel leur expliquant en langage clair l’intention et la raison d’être des changements proposés, article par article. De cette façon, la Commission s’assure que le public est en mesure de formuler des observations éclairées lors des consultations.

Guider et sensibiliser

La Commission recourt à plusieurs moyens pour faire connaître aux parties prenantes ses exigences et ses documents d’orientation en matière de réglementation, par exemple :

  • communications avec l’industrie et des groupes consultatifs;
  • séances d’information;
  • documents imprimés;
  • fils RSS;
  • médias sociaux;
  • courriels ciblés;
  • affichage sur le Web.

Répondre aux questions

Normes de service relatives aux demandes de renseignements du public sur la réglementation

Les demandes de renseignements sur les règlements peuvent être adressées à la Commission de diverses façons : par téléphone, par courrier postal ou par courrier électronique. La Commission s’emploie toujours à y répondre dans les meilleurs délais (de 24 heures à 15 jours selon l’ampleur de la réponse demandée). En règle générale, la Commission répond à 90 % des questions sur les règlements communiquées par téléphone ou laissées dans sa boîte vocale dans les 24 heures qui suivent. Lorsque les normes du service ne peuvent être respectées parce que les questions nécessitent des recherches, le demandeur en est informé dans les 24 heures de son appel. La Commission répond aux demandes d’information envoyées par courrier postal dans les 5 jours qui en suivent la réception. Les demandes de documents peuvent nécessiter de 48 heures à 15 jours ouvrables. La Commission répond aux questions récurrentes dans la FAQ. Pour améliorer la qualité et la cohérence des réponses, elle fait des vérifications auprès des parties prenantes sur les politiques d’interprétation, les pratiques et les outils, et le taux de réponse fait l’objet d’un suivi pour cerner les améliorations requises.

Service

Engagement en matière de services

La Commission vise l’excellence de la prestation de ses services. Son personnel doit souscrire au Code de valeurs et d’éthique de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada et respecter le Code de valeurs et d’éthique du secteur public . du Conseil du Trésor. Les résultats de la prestation des services sont consignés dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la Commission du droit d’auteur, le cas échéant.

Responsabilité en matière de services

Les consultations constituent la façon la plus formelle de donner suite aux problèmes et aux plaintes suscités par la réglementation. À cette fin, la Commission ouvre des dossiers de plaintes, tient des consultations et communique par courriel.

Formation du personnel

Étant donné sa petite taille, la Commission n’est pas dotée d’experts en réglementation. Elle travaille toutefois en étroite collaboration avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Industrie Canada et Justice Canada à qui elle demande conseil sur des questions de réglementation. Les Services juridiques de la Commission sont en mesure de répondre à la majorité des questions.

Participation des parties prenantes

Engagement à faire participer les parties prenantes

La Commission publie dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada les projets de règlement aux fins de consultation publique, en conformité de la Directive du Cabinet sur la gestion de la réglementation. Son personnel examine les observations qui lui sont transmises durant la période de consultation et y donne suite dans le cadre de l’établissement du dossier réglementaire destiné à l’attention du Conseil du Trésor, au besoin, avant que le règlement ne soit publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada.

Pratiques utilisées pour mobiliser les parties prenantes

Il arrive que la Commission tienne des consultations formelles en ligne pour mobiliser les parties prenantes.

Amélioration

La Commission veillera à la mise en œuvre de sa Politique d’interprétation de la réglementation.

La consultation avec les intéressés à propos des pratiques d’interprétation de la Commission se poursuivra lorsque nécessaire. Suite à la consultation complétée en 2014-2015, la Commission a reçu des commentaires d’une seule partie intéressée. Ces commentaires ne visaient pas spécifiquement les pratiques d’interprétation de la Commission. Il n’y a donc actuellement pas de base de référence sur laquelle la Commission puisse établir des mesures d’amélioration ni des priorités d’amélioration.

Le rendement de la Commission ainsi que des améliorations potentielles seront évalués lorsque des demandes d’information à propos des règlements ou de la Politique d’interprétation de la réglementation seront reçues.

Un compte rendu de la mise en œuvre de la politique sera publié au plus tard le 31 mars 2017.

Rapports connexes

Pour plus de renseignements

space